29 Jan 2019

iF DESIGN AWARD 2019: 67 jurors have made their decision

The winners of the iF DESIGN AWARD 2019 are in. From 22 to 24 January, 67 design experts from all over the world selected the best achievements in design from more than 50 different countries.

For three days, there was intensive discussion, dispute, checking and testing – until all 6,375 entries had been evaluated. In the end, 1,190 participants can look forward to being successful in their participation in the iF DESIGN AWARD 2019.

Schuppen 52, located in the middle of the Hamburg Harbor, served as the venue for this unique design summit, at which 67 top-class experts in the disciplines of product, communication and packaging design, service design/UX, architecture and interior design as well as professional concept acted as judges.

The jury agreed to honor outstanding submissions with a very special award – and honored 66 entries with the iF DESIGN AWARD 2019 Gold. However, the recipients of this award will not be announced until the day of the award ceremony – 15 March 2019 – at the BMW Welt in Munich.

The iF DESIGN AWARD 2019 at a glance:

  • 6,375 entries

  • from 52 nations

  • 7 disciplines

  • 1.190 award winning participants

  • 66 iF gold awards

The iF judges at work – a video podcast from the jury session

More about the iF DESIGN AWARD

The iF DESIGN AWARD has been a globally recognized trademark when it comes to excellence in design for 66 years. The iF brand is internationally established as a symbol for outstanding design achievements. The iF DESIGN AWARD is one of the most important design awards in the world. It rewards design achievements in all disciplines: product, packaging, communication and service design/UX, architecture and interior design as well as professional concept. All award-winning entries are presented in the iF Design Website, published in the iF Design App and exhibited in the iF design exhibition Hamburg.

The iF judges – from A to Z

Prof. Fritz Frenkler | f/p design GmbH | Munich, Germany

Discipline Product:
Jan Andersson | at-design | Fürth, Germany
Hokuto Ando | we+ inc. | Tokyo, Japan
Stefan Behnisch | Behnisch Architekten Stuttgart | Stuttgart, Germany
Inma Bermúdez | STUDIO INMA BERMÚDEZ | Valencia, Spain
Christoph Böninger | Auerberg | Munich, Germany
Emre Bozbeyli | Sisecam | Tuzla/Istanbul, Turkey
Sander Brouwer | Whirlpool Corporation | Pero (MI), Italy
Shikuan Chen | Compal | Taipei, Taiwan
Paul Cohen | Cube Industrial Design | Watson Bay, Australia
Alastair Curtis | alastaircurtiscreative | Southwood, United Kingdom
Prof. Niklas Galler | n21 DESIGN GmbH | Berlin, Germany
Sam Hecht | industrial facility | London, United Kingdom
Henrik Holbaek | Tools Design | Copenhagen, Denmark
Ronald Ihrig | ihrig design | Büttelborn/Worf., Germany
Manabu Inoue | Canon Inc. | Tokyo, Japan
Timothy Jacob Jensen | JACOB JENSEN DESIGN A/S | Hoejslev, Denmark
Henrik Jeppesen | attention design | Copenhagen, Denmark
Simone Kalz | FUN FACTORY GmbH | Bremen, Germany
Henk Kosche | ERCO GmbH | Lüdenscheidt, Germany
Michael Lanz | designaffairs GmbH | Munich, Germany
Petra Lundblad | Bolon AB | Ulricehamn, Sweden
Damian Mackiewicz | Harman International Industries, Inc. | Stamford, CT, United States
Alasdair McPhail | Nokia phones | London, United Kingdom
Michael Meyer | Alfred Kärcher GmbH & Co. KG | Winnenden, Germany
Nick Mival | DCA Design International | Warwick, United Kingdom
Alexander Müller | WERK | m Produktdesign | Neukirchen-Seelscheid, Germany
Thomas Paulen | vanBerlo | Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Dick Powell | Seymourpowell | London, United Kingdom
Ana Relvão | RELVÃOKELLERMANN | Munich, Germany
Robert Sachon | BSH Hausgeräte GmbH | Munich, Germany
Aysel Sari | Supersymetrics GmbH | Munich, Germany
Sonja Schiefer | Designworks | Munich, Germany
Mario Schlegel | VAUDE Sport | Tettnang, Germany
Mario Selic | Selic Industriedesign | Augsburg, Germany
Brian Stephens | Design Partners | Bray, Co. Wicklow, Ireland
Junggi Sung | Daylight | Seoul, Republic of South Korea
Kyoko Tanaka | yellow design | Pforzheim, Germany
Martin Topel | Squareone Design GmbH | Dusseldorf, Germany
Mirjam van Coillie | Royal Gazelle | Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Wolfgang Wagner | Design 3 GmbH | Hamburg, Germany
Yao Yingjia | Lenovo | Beijing, China
Brigitte Ziemann | Blanco Küchen | Obererdingen, Germany

Discipline Packaging:
Dave Brown | Brown&co The Brand Collective | Surrey, United Kingdom
Chi Mei Chang | Optima-id Ltd | Taipei, Taiwan
Isabelle Dahlborg Lidström | NINE | Copenhagen, Denmark
Darragh Murphy | DUCO | São Paulo, Brazil
Gisela Schulzinger | Pande Design | São Paulo, Brazil
Sayuri Shoji | Sayuri Studio | Tokyo, Japan

Discipline Communication:
Chris Alt | Chris Alt | Ahrensburg, Germany
Florian Breiter | wysiwyg* software design GmbH | Dusseldorf, Germany
Gary Cooke | Brand Cooke | London, United Kingdom
Christian Doering | Kolle Rebbe GmbH | Hamburg, Germany
Micky Du | The Human Unlimited | Taipei, Taiwan
Bärbel Fritz | Process Brand Evolution | Zurich, Switzerland
Sascha Hanke | Sascha Hanke | Hamburg, Germany
Seung Eon Kim | Naver | Seoul, Republic of South Korea
Seil Kim | 29CM | Seoul, Republic of South Korea
Larissa Pohl | Wunderman | Hamburg, Germany

Discipline Interior Architecture:
Rossana Hu | neri&hu design and research office | Shanghai, China
Julia Landsiedl | jULIA LANDSIEDEL | Strategic Design | Vienna, Austria
Monika Lepel | LEPEL & LEPEL Architektur | Cologne, Germany
Susanne Schmidhuber | SCHMIDHUBER | Munich, Germany

Discipline Professional Concept + Discipline Service Design:
Oliver Gerstheimer | chilli mind GmbH | Kassel, Germany
Prof. Birgit Mager | Service Design | Cologne, Germany

Discipline Architecture:
Anubhav Gupta | Godrej Properties | Mumbai, India
Achim Nagel | PRIMUS developments GmbH | Hamburg, Germany




iF International Forum Design GmbH

Annegret Wulf-Pippig
Bahnhofstraße 8
30159 Hannover

Phone: +49 511 54224-218
Email: annegret.wulf-pippig@ifdesign.de

iF Design Foundation

Helke Brandt | General Secretary

Phone: +49 511 21909962
Email: agentur@hbcom.eu